Association of African Universities Admits 32 New Members

Call for EOIs: To support the development of Research Management Frameworks, Manuals & Procedures for SGCs
September 1, 2020
Call for Applications – Research Excellence Consultant
September 2, 2020
Call for EOIs: To support the development of Research Management Frameworks, Manuals & Procedures for SGCs
September 1, 2020
Call for Applications – Research Excellence Consultant
September 2, 2020
Show all

Association of African Universities Admits 32 New Members

The Association of African Universities has admitted 32 higher education institutions into its membership – 31 from the African Higher Education Community and one Associate member from Asia.  These Institutions went through the strict admission process of the AAU and were successfully admitted either as associate or full members of the AAU.  This new admissions brings the total number of admitted AAU members to 451 as of August 2020.

The new institutions that have joined Africa’s apex continental higher education body, the AAU are listed below:

  • Alexandria Higher Institute of Engineering & Technology (AIET), Egypt
  • African University of Science and Technology, Nigeria
  • Kebri Dehar University, Ethiopia
  • Salale University, Ethiopia
  • Data Link Institute of Business and Technology, Ghana
  • Takoradi Technical University, Ghana
  • Lincoln University College, Malaysia
  • Lens Polytechnic Offa, Nigeria
  • University of Medical Sciences, Ondo, Nigeria
  • Durban University of Technology, South Africa
  • King Ceasor University, Uganda
  • Chreso University, Zambia
  • Ecole Normale Supérieure Assis Djebar Of Constantine, Algeria
  • International University of Equator, Burundi
  • Badr University in Cairo, Egypt
  • University of Sadat City, Egypt
  • Dominion University College, Ghana
  • Islamic University College, Ghana
  • Sabratha University, Libya
  • Federal University Wukari, Nigeria
  • Ignatius Ajuru University of Education, Nigeria
  • Nigerian Army University Biu, Nigeria
  • Federal University of Petroleum Resources, Nigeria
  • Jamhuriya University of Science and Technology (JUST), Somalia
  • Zamzam University of Science & Technology, Somalia
  • Merowe University of Technology, Sudan
  • National Institute of Public Administration (Nipa), Zambia
  • Pharos University in Alexandria, Egypt
  • The Egyptian E-Learning University, Egypt
  • Academic City University College, Ghana
  • Mountain Top University, Nigeria


Whilst the AAU warmly welcomes these new members on board, it promises to continue to innovate and work towards increasing its reach and impact for the good of its members and the African continent at large. The AAU remains a key continental institution which plays an advocacy role in raising awareness for and about the major needs of African higher education institutions, among governments, development partners, and other stakeholders. AAU will continue to provide the continental platform for its member institutions to network, share knowledge and experiences, broker partnerships and collaborate with each other in their areas of specialization and research interests. Member institutions are also encouraged to take advantage of the numerous benefits offered by the AAU and reach out to us, if they require any support.

Other higher education institutions on the continent which are not yet members of the AAU, are encouraged to explore their eligibility and join this prestigious Association to benefit from gaining support for your core functions of teaching, learning, knowledge generation and dissemination, as well as community engagement.  The following links provide further information related to joining the AAU – |

The Association of African Universities values all its members and looks forward to a continued and even more strengthened cooperation in the coming years


About the Association of African Universities

 Website – |Facebook – Association of African Universities| Twitter -@aau_67)

The Association of African Universities is an international non-profit, non-governmental organization created by African Universities to promote cooperation among them on the one hand, and between them and the international academic community on the other. Created in 1967, the AAU is the voice of higher education in Africa. AAU aims to improve the quality of African higher education, and to strengthen its contribution to Africa’s development by supporting the core functions of higher education institutions and facilitating critical reflection and consensus building on issues affecting higher education. It is headquartered in Accra, Ghana, has a membership of more than 400 HEIs and has three regional offices – North Africa Regional Office (NARO) in Cairo, Egypt; East Africa Regional Office (EARO) in Khartoum, Sudan; and North America Office (NAMO) in Washington DC, USA. The Association is the technical implementing arm of the African Union Commission for higher education – with coverage and mandate across the language divide of Africa. We have influence in the francophone, anglophone, lusophone and arabophone regions. The AAU is the coordinating agency of the Higher Education Cluster of the Continental Education Strategy for Africa (CESA 16-25) of the African Union Commission (AUC). Through our guidance, our member universities are responsible for implementing the Science, Technology, and Innovation Strategy for Africa (STISA 2024) of the AUC.


  1. Kabiru Bashari says:

    Please I’m like to ask questions with regards to the activities of this association?
    The registration is applicable only to Universities if no what of Colleges of Education are they part of the association.

  2. Mohammedamin Abadega Abafogi says:

    I want free scholarship or fully funded scholarship I want to learn PhD in public administration

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *